MOLECULAR ECOLOGY

MOLECULAR ECOLOGY PRIZE

The field of molecular ecology is a young and inherently interdisciplinary research area. As a consequence, research in molecular ecology is not currently represented by a single scientific society. Likewise, there is no body that actively promotes the discipline or recognizes its pioneers. To help fill this void, the editorial board of the journal, *Molecular Ecology*, created the Molecular Ecology Prize several years ago to recognize significant contributions to this area of research. A committee with a rotating membership was established to call for nominations and decide on prize winners. This international prize, which includes an engraved silver platter, thus far has been awarded to three of the most distinguished pioneers in this discipline: Godfrey Hewitt (University of East Anglia, UK), John Avise (University of California, Irvine, USA), and most recently, Pierre Taberlet (University Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France). A short biography of the prize winners is published in *Molecular Ecology*, which describes their contributions.

PREVIOUS WINNERS

2007 - Pierre Taberlet - biographical details to be published in 2008 in Molecular Ecology

2006 - John Avise - read biographical details here

2005 - Godfrey Hewitt - read biographical details here